Free From Sin Ebook (1).jpg
Dark Hollow Road Final Ebook KDP (1).jpg

Pre-order now available!

Surrounded by wilderness is Possum Gap, the isolated town in Kentucky where dark secrets and violence runs rife among its people.

In this forlorn place, no-nonsense, down-to-earth sheriff, Sadie Mills, does her best to bring order and justice to a community struggling with crime, drug overdoses, and hopelessness. Aiding her is Coroner Raymond Russo, who fled New Jersey for a simpler life in rural America in a last-ditch effort to escape a family crime syndicate.

When the body of a young man is recovered from the Puissant River, evidence leads Sheriff Mills to a cold case murder and a rundown cabin in the woods. The hill country is a dangerous place, and Sadie doesn’t know if she can trust John Dover, the mysterious loner and member of the notorious Dover clan who offers to help her uncover the truth.

Events take a tragic turn when a teenaged boy from the nearby Amish settlement goes missing and Sadie suspects the cases are connected. And just when Sadie doesn’t think things can get any worse, Russo’s family shows up with revenge on their minds.

As things heat up in Possum Gap, a horrific tale from the past emerges that threatens not only Sadie’s life, but everyone she holds dear. Will the hill people unite against an outside threat to save their sheriff or leave her and the authority she represents to fate? It’s a race against time to save the lost Amish boy and battle an unthinkable evil.

Dark Hollow Road is the second novel in the gripping, addictive Possum Gap crime thriller/mystery series.

The Possum Gap Novels

Free From Sin Full (1).jpg

FREE FROM SIN is a gripping psychological crime thriller/mystery story about the intertwining lives of three unlikely women in the hills of Kentucky, and the explosive results when a troubled teenager has her day of reckoning.

Sheriff Sadie Mills navigates the challenges of single motherhood while solving crimes in the rural community of Possum Gap, Kentucky. The recent trailer shootings in her jurisdiction have her on edge, and the new coroner, a Yankee transplant from the east coast, is still adjusting to life in the wilderness when all hell breaks loose. Cases stemming from an out-of-control hillbilly clan, sex trafficking, and a murder in the nearby Amish community collide, and Sheriff Mills finds herself in a race to stop a serial killer before they strike again.

Lucinda Coblentz is a devoted wife, mother, and member of a strict religious order. Her kind and generous ways make her the perfect target of a master manipulator and has put her beloved family in grave danger. Can she make matters right before it’s too late?

Charlie Baker endured years of torment by a wicked stepfather and a coldhearted mother before she finally escaped her suffering. Now eighteen, her powerful journey takes her between two worlds, one good and the other evil. Struggling to cope with buried secrets and the demons from her past, she’ll stop at nothing in her search for the one thing that has always eluded her—happiness.

Critique from advanced copy reader:

Free From Sin is a well-paced and balanced crime thriller which juxtaposes three models of womanhood, if you will, in a manner that is plausible, engaging, and somehow non-judgmental, which is a striking accomplishment.

Editorial 

Reviews

5 Star Readers' Favorite Review
In this truly gripping story set in the Kentucky countryside, we encounter three central female protagonists as their lives collide in the most unpredictable way. It is always so refreshing to read a strong female-led work of crime fiction, especially when the cast of characters is as rich and varied as those that author Karen Ann Hopkins has so lovingly crafted...I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Free From Sin to fans of well-penned crime, thriller, and mystery fiction. A truly unmissable read. 

5 Star Reader's Favorite Review
Free From Sin (A Possum Gap Novel Book 1) by Karen Ann Hopkins is an adventurous psychological thriller that takes us to the wild back hills of Kentucky...She tells a story in a clear and concise narrative, with a beautifully paced plot and storyline. I particularly enjoyed the surprise revelations about Charlie that were woven into the narrative. This is a simple, yet immensely satisfying read and one I can highly recommend. 

5 Star Reader's Favorite Review
I love the Serenity Plains Books, and this series follows in its footsteps, with strong female characters and a story of how circumstances can determine a person's life.

5 Star Book Sirens' Review
A new sheriff and a new setting but the same thriller/mystery style story we know and love from Karen Ann Hopkins in her Serenity's Plain Secret's series.

Rave Review From Liz's Book Reviews
I loved this book!

5 Star Book Sirens' Review
This is a must read for all thriller lovers.

5 Star Book Sirens' Review
Extremely satisfying ending with just a hint of what is to come.

Booklife Review
Readers who relish strong female leads will enjoy this suspensful but nuanced crime novel...great for fans of Linda Castillo's Kate Burkholder series, Vannetta Chapman's Shipshewana Amish mystery series, and Chris Offutt's The Killing Hills.